RACE REPORT | MotoGP Catalunya 2024

Two-time defending world champion Francesco Bagnaia rode to victory in Catalunya, cutting the lead of championship leader Jorge Martin.

Bagnaia, on a factory Ducati, passed the leader Martin at turn five of the circuit - the spot where he crashed on the final lap of Saturday's sprint - to secure his third win of the season. Martin was unable to respond, leaving Bagnaia to win by almost two seconds and reduce his championship deficit to 39 points.

Marc Marquez finished third ahead of Aleix Espargaro, who announced his retirement at the end of the season shortly before the start. Marquez, who started from 14th on the grid, is now third in the standings, 41 points behind Martin, whose lead at the front has increased by one point.

Martin, who was seventh on his Pramac Ducati when the lights went out, passed second-placed Pedro Acosta and then Bagnai at Turn 10 to take the lead with 20 laps to go. Youngster Acosta, who was celebrating his 20th birthday, chased him down but got caught in a skid on lap 11 and finished 20th.

Bagnaia reduced Martin's lead, eventually overtaking him with five laps to go and keeping the leader in turn to secure the win.

After a slower start, Marquez was aiming for his first MotoGP win since 2021 and roared forward from 14th on the grid on his Ducati-Gresini. He eventually overtook Aprilia rider Espargar to take third place on the podium.

1 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Lenovo (GP24) 40m 11.726s
2 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP24) +1.740s
3 Marc Marquez SPA Gresini Ducati (GP23) +10.491s
4 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Racing (RS-GP24) +10.543s
5 Fabio Di Giannantonio ITA VR46 Ducati (GP23) +15.441s
6 Raul Fernandez SPA Trackhouse Aprilia (RS-GP23) +15.916s
7 Alex Marquez SPA Gresini Ducati (GP23) +16.882s
8 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16) +18.578s
9 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +20.477s
10 Miguel Oliveira POR Trackhouse Aprilia (RS-GP24) +20.889s
11 Marco Bezzecchi ITA VR46 Ducati (GP23) +21.023s
12 Maverick Viñales SPA Aprilia Racing (RS-GP24) +22.137s
13 Pedro Acosta SPA Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 (RC16)* +31.967s
14 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) +32.987s
15 Joan Mir SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) +33.132s
16 Johann Zarco FRA LCR Honda (RC213V) +34.554s
17 Luca Marini ITA Repsol Honda (RC213V) +36.689s
18 Enea Bastianini ITA Ducati Lenovo (GP24) +50.615s
19 Stefan Bradl GER HRC Test Team (RC213V) +55.295s
20 Alex Rins SPA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +63.428s
  Franco Morbidelli ITA Pramac Ducati (GP24) DNF
  Augusto Fernandez SPA Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 (RC16) DNF
  Jack Miller AUS Red Bull KTM (RC16) DNF

Contact us for any questions. We are here for you and ready to answer.


ticket gp logo

Terms and conditions
Privacy policy


Free DeliveryFree Delivery

Safe and Secure PaymentsSafe and Secure Payments

Gift vouchersGift vouchers

Print@home ticketPrint@home ticket

Paypal Visa MasterCard GoPay Stripe Comgate Apple Pay Google Pay

We have established partnerships with circuits, organizers, and official partners. As we do not collaborate directly with the owner of the Formula 1 licensing, it is necessary for us to include the following statement:

This website is unofficial and is not associated in any way with the Formula 1 companies. F1, FORMULA ONE, FORMULA 1, FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP, GRAND PRIX and related marks are trade marks of Formula One Licensing B.V.

Website by: HexaDesign | Update cookies preferences